Music Monday: July Playlist

I can’t believe it’s already July.  The kids and I have been very busy.  We’ve committed to 30-60 minutes of physical activity every day.  Sometimes this is swimming or tennis or a group fitness class at the rec center.  We’ve also cleaned, cleaned, cleaned in preparation for some major life changes this fall.  With all the busy, we need something to keep us going.  Here’s our July playlist:

    1. “All We Ever Knew” by The Head and the Heart-  The Head and the Heart is my favorite band.  I fell in love with them with their first album, and it got through a big move.  This song has a special place in my heart because it’s Madeliene’s and my jam.  We may dance unashamed in the car.

2. “Casual Party” by Band of Horses-I love Ben Bridwell’s voice.  And while this isn’t as lovely as “Funeral” or “No One’s Gonna Love You

3. “Go!” by M83-My husband is surprised by this.  I have not loved M83 since he freaked me out playing “Car Chase Terror” on a drive from Lubbock, Texas to Kansas City, MO.  I will never fall asleep in the car the right way again, but this song is so catchy, I can’t deny it.  I love it.

4. “Beta Love” by RaRa Riot-Just flat out poppy and fun!

5. “This is What You Came For” by Calvin Harris featuring Rihanna-Another surprise on my list comes with a confession.  I do not like Rihanna.  Not her” Umbrella”-ella-ella-eh-eh…not” Diamonds”…but I like this song.  It’s my pooltime jam.

6. “New Romantics” by Taylor Swift-Madeleine and I got to see this live last September.  It became  part of our regular music rotation last fall.  It’s back this summer now that it’s on the radio, and we still can’t get enough of it.

7. “Can’t Stop the Feeling” by Justin Timberlake-Yes.  It made the list again, but I love hearing Max sing this one!

8. “Past Lives” by Local Natives-This song just pulls at my soul.  Love it!

9. “White Flag” by Joseph-  If I had my own band, this is what I would hope it would sound like.  I love everything about their sound. The message is so empowering.  It’s my anthem for the rest of the year.

10. “She Used to be Mine” by Jessie Mueller from The Waitress— This is my shower song of the moment.  I love Sara Bareilles’ version, but Jessie Mueller’s raw emotional delivery cannot be topped.

Leave a Reply

