Music Monday: End of the (School) Year Playlist

The school year is winding to a close. AP exams are over.  I’ve packed up my classroom. I’m ready for a break, but my May playlist keeps me going.  Here’s what I’ve been listening to this month:

album-artPete Yorn, “Lost Weekend”

I’ve just recently begun to like Pete Yorn.  For about 2 weeks, I would skip this song on Sirius/XM’s The Spectrum.  That is I skipped it before I really listened to it. I couldn’t agree more:  I need a vacation!

 

detail_the-strumbellas_digital_01

 

Strumbellas, “Spirits”

This has been my family’s favorite song since April.  It’s a real earworm, getting stuck in your head for hours on end.  We’ve changed they lyrics to suit whatever is going on in our house at the time.  My personal favorite: “I’ve got ants in my pants, and I want to go.”

 

 

download

Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats, “Need Never Get Old”

I love Nathaniel Rateliff.  His stuff makes me happy even when the lyrics are depressing.  Like “SOB” or “Look It Here,” this song is upbeat enough to get you moving.  It’s good music by which to clean your house or your classroom.

 

 

MyAim_isTrueElvis Costello, “Welcome to the Working Week”

Since I began making the move to leave my school, this has been my working anthem every Monday morning.  I walk into my classroom, plug my phone into the speakers, and play this song.  It’s my weekly ritual.

 

Justin Timberlake, “Can’t Stop the Feeling”

This song is absolutely how I got through graduation last week.  When I was stressed, it calmed me down.  When I was angry, it made me happy.  When I was sobbing into my Kleenex as I watched the most fabulous group of students say goodbye to high school, it got me excited for their future.  Now my kids play the music video all day long.

What’s getting you through the end of the school year?

Leave a Reply

