Just a Quick Post

I haven’t felt like writing much.  This weekend has been composed of some downs.  Nothing I feel like writing about or sharing with the world. On Friday, I had planned to write at least four posts this weekend to schedule them throughout the week.  But as life would have it, I became busy, overwhelmed with life,and got none of it done. C’est la vie!

This week marked the beginning of the 2015-2016 school year.  I met all of my students and many of their families at our annual Meet and Greet. My new students are eager, bright, witty, and sweet.  I also saw many former students as they prepared for their sophomore year.  This time of year is always bittersweet for me because I become so attached to the students I had the previous year. It usually takes a good two months for me to become completely comfortable with my new classes.

While mourning the upward trajectory of my freshmen students from last year,  I did have a new experience.  For the first time, my AP Lit class is made up almost entirely of students I had when they were freshmen.  It’s a strange situation.  It’s almost as if they have come full circle.  Not only did I know what they entered our building knowing, I will know what they leave knowing.  It’s pretty amazing, and it’s going to be incredibly fun.

Leave a Reply

